Tarleton State University

Table of Contents

  1. Academic Buildings

    1. Business Building
    2. Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center
    3. Davis Hall
    4. Dick Smith Library
    5. E.J. Howell Education Building
    6. Engineering Technology Building
    7. Equine Center
    8. Hydrology and Engineering
    9. Joe W. Autry Agriculture Building
    10. Kinesiology
    11. Lamar Johanson Science Building
    12. Math Building
    13. Nursing Building
    14. O.A. Grant Humanities Building
    15. Teaching Pavilion
    1. Labs

      1. Agricultural Labs
        1. Dairy Barn
        2. Greenhouse
        3. Horticulture Lab and Greenhouses
        4. Livestock Center
        5. Meats Lab
        6. Poultry Center
        7. Sheep and Goat Barn
        8. Swine Center
      2. Instructional Labs
        1. Dairy Barn
        2. Green House on Washington Street
        3. Greenhouse
        4. Horticulture Lab and Greenhouses
        5. Livestock Center
        6. Meats Lab
        7. Poultry Center
        8. Science 206 Lab
        9. Science 207 Lab
        10. Science 207A Lab
        11. Science 208 Lab
        12. Science 218 Lab
        13. Science 234 Lab
        14. Science 308 Lab
        15. Science 330 Lab
        16. Science 434 Lab
        17. Sheep and Goat Barn
        18. Tarleton Center 014 Lab
        19. Wisdom Gym 105 Lab
        20. Wood Shop at ag farm
      3. Instructional Technology Labs
        1. Autry 302 Lab
        2. COBA 204 Lab
        3. COBA 206 Lab
        4. COBA 208 Lab
        5. Engineering and Technology 109 Lab
        6. FWHIC 440 Lab
        7. FWHIC 460 Lab
        8. FWHIC 530 Lab
        9. Fine Art 110 Lab
        10. Fine Art 120 Lab
        11. HYEG 203
        12. HYEG 204
        13. Howell 202 Lab
        14. Math 226E Lab
        15. Math 227 Lab
        16. Nursing 207 Lab
        17. Nursing 208 Lab
        18. OAG 205 Lab
        19. OAG 206 Lab
        20. OAG 208
        21. OAG 209 Lab
        22. Science 207 Lab
        23. Science 208 Lab
        24. Science 218 Lab
        25. Shafer/CLS 107 Lab
      4. Interactive Television Labs
        1. COBA 108 ITV
        2. Howell 107 ITV
        3. Nursing 108 ITV
        4. Nursing 109 ITV
        5. Science 111 ITV
        6. Tarleton Center 130 ITV
        7. Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 430 ITV
        8. Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 440 ITV
        9. Texas A&M Central Texas - TCT 100 ITV
        10. Texas A&M Central Texas - TCT 101 ITV
        11. Texas A&M Central Texas - TCT 156 ITV
      5. Open Access Labs
        1. COBA 208 Lab (Open Access)
        2. COBA 212 Lab (Open Access)
        3. Math 226 Lab (Open Access)
        4. Science 207 (Open Access)
        5. Science 207A (Open Access)
    2. Research Facilities

      1. Hydrology and Engineering
      2. Observatory and Hunewell Ranch
      3. Southwest Regional Dairy Center
      4. Tarleton Agricultural Center (College Farm)
  2. Administrative Buildings & Services

    1. Administration Annex
    2. Administration Annex II
    3. Administration Building
    4. Alumni House
    5. Barry B. Thompson Student Center
    6. Central Plant
    7. Central Receiving
    8. Military Services
    9. Physical Facilities
    10. Physical Plant
    11. Tarleton Center
    12. Welcome Center
    1. TTVN

      1. Administration 208 TTVN
      2. Administration 210 TTVN
      3. Administration Annex 106i TTVN
      4. Business 180 TTVN
      5. Nursing 108 TTVN
      6. Nursing 109 TTVN
      7. Science 111 TTVN
      8. Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 430 TTVN
      9. Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 440 TTVN
      10. Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 450c TTVN
      11. Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 518 TTVN
      12. Tarleton Midlothian - Building 2, Room 116 TTVN
      13. Tarleton Midlothian - Building A, Room 202 TTVN
      14. Thompson Student Center 130
  3. Athletics & Recreation

    1. Cecil Ballow Baseball Complex
    2. Intramural Sports Building
    3. Memorial Stadium
    4. Potishman-Lard Tennis Courts
    5. Recreational Sports Center
    6. Rodeo Arena
    7. Softball Field
    8. Stadium Pressbox
    9. Tarleton Challenge Course
    10. Tarleton Sports Medical Center - Baseball / Softball
    11. Tarleton Sports Medicine Center - Memorial Stadium
    12. Vance Terrell Intramural Complex
    13. Wisdom Gym
    14. Women's Athletic Facility
  4. Construction

    1. Construction Area for the new engineering building
    1. Alternate Pedestrian Routes

      1. Alternate Pedestrian Routes
      2. Alternate Pedestrian Routes - Neblett
      3. Alternate Pedestrian Routes - Vanderbilt
      4. Temporary Pedestrian Walk-though
    2. New Projects

      1. Construction Area for the new engineering building
      2. P27 - Addition
    3. Temporary Parking & Road Closures

      1. Cain closed to thru traffic
      2. Parking closed due to construction
      3. Parking closed due to construction.
      4. Road closed to through traffic for construction
  5. Dining

    1. Chick-fil-a
    2. Dining Hall
    3. Study Grounds Cafe
    4. Texan Star Food Court
  6. Outreach Locations

    1. Southwest Regional Dairy Center
    2. Tarleton Agricultural Center (College Farm)
    1. Tarleton State University - Fort Wor

      1. Southwest Metroplex - Hickman Building
      2. Terrell School - Schaffer Education Building
      3. Weatherford College
    2. Tarleton State University - Midlothi

      1. Navarro College
    3. Tarleton State University - Waco

      1. McLennan Community College
  7. Public & Performance Venues

    1. Museums

      1. Dora Lee Langdon Cultural and Educational Center - Granbury, Texas
      2. W. K. Gordon Center - Thurber, Texas
    2. Public Venues

      1. Equine Center
      2. Green House on Washington Street
      3. Meats Lab
      4. TSC Ballroom A
      5. TSC Ballroom B
      6. TSC Ballroom C
      7. TSC Conference Room 130
      8. TSC Conference Room 219
      9. TSC Conference Room 27
      10. TSC Conference Room 28
    3. Visual & Performing Arts

      1. FAC Auditorium
      2. FAC Box Office
      3. FAC Gallery Exhibit
      4. FAC Theater
      5. FAC Workshop Theater
      6. Langdon Center Concert Hall
  8. Safety & Security

    1. Police Station
    1. Defibrillator (AED)

      1. Admin Annex 1 Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      2. Administration Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      3. Agricultural Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      4. Business Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      5. Dick Smith Library Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      6. Dining Hall Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      7. Equine Center Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      8. Field House Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      9. Fine Arts Center Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      10. Legends Hall Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      11. Math Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      12. Nursing Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      13. O.A. Grant Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      14. Police Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      15. Rec Sports Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      16. Rec Sports Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      17. Rec Sports Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      18. Science Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      19. Sports Medical Facility Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      20. Student Center Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      21. Welcome Center Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      22. Wisdom Gym Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      23. Wisdom Gym Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
      24. Wisdom Gym Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
    2. Public Storm Shelters

      1. Kinesiology Building
      2. Thompson Student Center
  9. Services

    1. Post Office
    1. ATM

      1. Library Printing Station
      2. Thompson Student Center Lobby
  10. Transportation

    1. Cart Free Zone
    2. Shuttle Routes
    3. Shuttle Stop
    4. Shuttle Stop on Campus
    1. Bike Stations

      1. Centennial Hall - Bike Share Station
      2. Hunewell Annex Hall - Bike Share Station
      3. Library - Bike Share Station
      4. P20 - Bike Share Station
      5. P34 - Bike Share Station
      6. P41 - Bike Share Station
  11. Landmarks

    1. Alumni House
    2. Alumni Island and Three Penny Triangle
    3. Cannon
    4. Hunewell Bandstand
    5. J-TAC Hearts
    6. John Tarleton Bronze
    7. John Tarleton Memorial
    8. Library Time Capsule
    9. Limestone Outdoor Terrace
    10. Military Memorial
    11. Organizational Sidewalk
    12. Pearl Mahan Rock
    13. Rock Gate
    14. Rock Wall
    15. Smokestack Behind Physical Plant
    16. Stenholm Office Exhibit
    17. T-Bench
    18. The Texan
    19. Time Capsule
    20. Trogdon House
    21. ULTRA
    22. University Park
    23. Water Tower
    24. World War II Marker
  12. Residence Halls

    1. On Campus Apartments

      1. Lone Star
      2. Texan Village
      3. University Village
      4. Venture
    2. On Campus Residence Halls

      1. Bender
      2. Centennial
      3. Ferguson
      4. Gough
      5. Heritage
      6. Honors
      7. Hunewell
      8. Hunewell Annex
      9. Integrity Hall
      10. Legacy
      11. Legends
      12. Moody
      13. Traditions Hall North
      14. Traditions Hall South
  13. Parking

    1. P12
    2. P20
    3. P27 - Addition
    4. P46
    1. All Zone Parking

      1. P20 East
      2. P20 North
      3. P20 South
      4. P25
      5. P25
      6. P34 North
      7. P34 South
      8. P34 South
      9. P41 (Landmark Lot)
      10. P5
    2. Commuter Parking

      1. Commuter Parking at St. Luke's
      2. P17
      3. P40: Commuter Parking
    3. Handicap Parking

      1. Handicap Parking
      2. Handicap Parking
      3. Handicap Parking
      4. Handicap Parking
      5. Handicap Parking
      6. Handicap Parking
      7. Handicap Parking
      8. Handicap Parking
      9. Handicap Parking
      10. Handicap Parking
      11. Handicap Parking
      12. Handicap Parking
      13. Handicap Parking
      14. Handicap Parking
      15. Handicap Parking
      16. Handicap Parking
      17. Handicap Parking
      18. Handicap Parking
      19. Handicap Parking
      20. P46
    4. Purple Heart Parking

      1. P12
      2. P17
      3. P20
      4. P3
    5. Faculty and Staff Parking

      1. P1
      2. P10
      3. P11
      4. P13
      5. P14
      6. P15
      7. P18
      8. P19
      9. P20 East
      10. P21
      11. P26
      12. P27
      13. P27 - Addition
      14. P37
      15. P46
    6. Residential Parking

      1. P16
      2. P22 East
      3. P22 West
      4. P23
      5. P24
      6. P28 (residential)
      7. P3
      8. P30
      9. P31
      10. P31-A
      11. P31-B
      12. P32
      13. P35
      14. P36
      15. P39
      16. P4
      17. P43
      18. P44 (residential)
      19. P45 - South
      20. P9 / Thompson Park
    7. Visitor Parking

      1. P12
      2. P19
      3. P19 Visitor
      4. P2
      5. Visitor Parking
      6. Visitor Parking
      7. Visitor Parking - P36

Tours

Texan Trail

  1. Stop 1
  2. Stop 2
  3. Stop 3
  4. Stop 4
  5. Stop 5
  6. Stop5-
  7. Stop .6
  8. Stop 7
  9. Stop .8
  10. stop .9
  11. end

Virtual Tour of Tarleton State University

  1. Welcome Center
  2. Tarleton Center
  3. Outside Administration
  4. Alumni Island and Three Penny Triangle
  5. Alumni Island
  6. Hunewell Hall lobby
  7. Military Memorial
  8. Will L. Tate Military Memorial and Heritage Park
  9. E.J. Howell Education Building
  10. Trogdon House
  11. Math Building
  12. Dining Hall
  13. Dining Hall
  14. Area in front of Dining Hall and Student Center
  15. Barry B. Thompson Student Center lobby
  16. Lillian and Jones Intersection
  17. Heritage
  18. Heritage Hall student room
  19. Heritage Hall Lobby
  20. Integrity Hall
  21. Integrity Hall lobby
  22. Integrity Hall student room - common area
  23. Integrity Hall student room
  24. Texan Village
  25. Legacy
  26. Legends
  27. Legends Hall lobby
  28. Legends Hall student room
  29. Pedestrian Area - Legends Hall - Centennial Hall sidewalk
  30. Centennial
  31. Centennial Hall Lobby
  32. Centennial Hall student room
  33. Recreation Center First Floor
  34. Rec Center Second Floor
  35. Nursing Building Lobby
  36. Nursing Building Reflection Pool
  37. Lamar Johanson Science Building
  38. Wisdom Gym
  39. Wisdom Gym
  40. Potishman-Lard Tennis Courts
  41. Business Building
  42. Dick Smith Library Entrance
  43. Dick Smith Library
  44. ULTRA sculpture and outdoor area
  45. Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center
  46. Joe W. Autry Agriculture Building
  47. O.A. Grant Humanities Building

Homecoming Parade Route

  1. Parade Start
  2. Parade End

Content

Holiday Showcase Vendors

Shuttle transportation to Showcase

White Shuttles will be transporting showcase shoppers to and from the Showcase venue. Transportation shuttles will be available every 15 minutes to come and go from the showcase with ease.

The Tarleton State University's Staff Council 23rd Annual Holiday Arts & Crafts Showcase will be held on Friday, December 2, 2016.  All revenue generated from the booth sales go towards Staff Scholarships.

Thompson Student Center

The Tarleton State University's Staff Council 23rd Annual Holiday Arts & Crafts Showcase will be held on Friday, December 2nd, 2016.  Showcase will be open from 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM.  All revenue generated from the booth sales go towards Staff Scholarships.  

 

Vendors can unload inventory under the awning in front of the Thompson Student Center Ball Rooms from 7:00 AM – 9:00 AM. After unloading vendors, should move their vehicles to P34 North and South, where they can return by shuttle. 

Unload Directions

Vendors can enter campus on West Jones Street off  Ollie Street. Vendors will go straight and turn left at the barricades onto  N Lillian street and enter.

Vendors can pull under the awning in front of the Thompson Student Center until they reach the far end of awning. Vendors can begin unloading at 7:00 AM until 9:00 AM. After unloading vendors, should move their vehicles promptly to P34 North and South, where they can return by shuttle.

Vendor Parking

Parking for both Shoppers and Vendors at our Showcase, is located throughout the parking lot between the Baseball & Softball fields Lots P34 North and South, as well as in front of the Horticulture Center. Transportation shuttles will be available every 15 minutes to come and go from the showcase with ease.  

The Tarleton State University's Staff Council 23rd Annual Holiday Arts & Crafts Showcase will be held on Friday, December 2nd, 2016. All revenue generated from the booth sales go towards Staff Scholarships.

Back to Table of Contents

Academic Buildings

Business Building

The Business Building was built in 1985 and houses the College of Business Administration (COBA). The primary mission of the College of Business Administration is to provide an innovative, creative, and relevant education in business disciplines to a diverse group of students. The College of Business Administration is accredited by The Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs (1991).

 

Economics, Finance, Accounting, Management, Marketing, Computer, Computer Information, and Administration classes are taught in this building.

 

The Business Building houses the following:

 

Facilities and Amenities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the College of Business Administration please call at 254-968-9350 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center

The Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center was built in 1979 at a cost of approximately $7.5 million.

 

The Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center houses several state-of-the-art facilities, such as a fully equipped recording studio that allows performers to record up to eight tracks at one time. This studio is interconnected with two large theater spaces that further enhance recording capabilities. There is also an interconnection with the band and choir halls that can be used as "dead rooms" to handle just about any size group.

 

The Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center Gallery has exhibits and shows on display most of the school year. Professionals, students, and local artists display their work in the gallery. The hours of operation are from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. when a show is on display.

 

Theatre, Art, Music, and Digital Media classes are taught in this building.

 

The Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center houses the following:

 

Facilities and Amenities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the Department of Fine Arts, please call at 254-968-9245 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Davis Hall

Davis Hall is located on the main campus and is a general purpose building. It was built in 1936 and initially opened as a men's dorm. It is named after J. Thomas Davis who had the longest tenure as president at Tarleton (1914-1945). He was an instrumental part in helping Tarleton grow and influenced Tarleton becoming a member of The Texas A&M University System, as well as and forged the way to creating a culture of excellence for Tarleton students.

 

The Davis Hall houses the following:

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the College of Health Sciences and Human Services, please call at 254-968-1652 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Dick Smith Library

The Dick Smith Library, named in 1974 for a highly respected Tarleton professor and benefactor, has grown from one room into a three-level structure housing almost 1,000,000 items and more than 200 electronic databases.

 

Beginning in 1894, when the school was known as Stephenville College, books were shelved in a church anteroom and the Library was housed in a strange array of college departments including the President's office, the college book store, and the dining hall.

 

In 1956 a new building was erected, giving the library its own home. It was a two-story structure that surrounded an open mezzanine. A library addition was completed in 1967, but by 1983 it was time for the library to undertake a major building expansion, due to the library having almost doubled in size. Access to and utility of the library and its resources were enhanced. Another major building expansion and renovation was completed in 2006, which further enhanced the library's ability to accomplish its mission of providing user-centered services, collections, technology, facilities, and personnel.

 

The latest building renovation started in 2011 when accommodation were made for the Center for Instructional Innovation (CII) offices, which was followed by a $2 million renovation of the remaining main floor area into the Library Learning Commons. Opened in June 2014, the Library Learning Commons provides a campus “hub” for collaborative study and work spaces where students can interact with cutting-edge technology, research resources, and support services like Tutoring Services, Information Technology Services, CII Online Instructional Support, and Dining Services.

 

In fall 2015, The Maker Spot was add on the upper level to provide access to innovative technologies for invention, creation, exploration and design, and much more. The space offers 3-D printers and scanners, a large format poster printer, GoPro Action Cameras & Mounts, and Maker & Computer Development Kits.

 

Facilities:

 

Services:

 

If you have any questions concerning the Dick Smith Library, please call at 254-968-9249.

E.J. Howell Education Building

The E.J. Howell building was built in 1918 for $100,000 and was originally used as the Administration Building. The building was renovated in 1970 for $163,810; 1982 for $27,142; 1985 for $6,471; and again in 1990 for $1,890,469. The bricks that currently make up the Howell building are from the originals framework The gross square footage is 29,299 square feet. The conference room located on the first floor is dedicated to the memory of Dr. William J. Anderson, administrator, teacher, and friend of Tarleton.

 

Named for former president E. J. Howell, the present Education Building now houses the College of Education. Inscription on the front of the E. J. Howell Education Building: The John Tarleton Agricultural College in Texas, the great call is the call of the soil. Other commonwealths may strive for empire in swift industry or in trade or in shipping. We hold no jealousies but on our thousand miles of prairie the buzz of the bee and the buzz of the mower are telling of our plenty youth. Listen to the call: the soil is our mother.

 

The E. J. Howell Building houses the following:

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the E. J. Howell Building, please call at 254-968-9089 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Engineering Technology Building

The Engineering Technology Building is located on the Main Campus of Tarleton State University. The building was constructed and occupied in 1952. The total gross assignable area is 24,226 feet, encompassing 42 rooms on one floor. The facilities contain twelve well equipped laboratories.

 

The Engineering Technology Building houses the Department of Engineering Technology.

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the Department of Engineering Technology, please call at 254-968-9012 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Equine Center

Hydrology and Engineering

The Hydrology and Engineering building was built in 1985 with a total 45,047 square footage. There are 46 rooms and offices that make up this facility. The Architect is Dahl Braden PTM, INC. The General Contractor is Rodgers Construction, Inc.

 

Hydrology and Engineering building houses the following:

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the Department of Engineering and Computer Science, please call at 254-968-9863 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Joe W. Autry Agriculture Building

The Joe W. Autry Building was completed in September 1951, and houses classrooms, laboratories, and offices for the College of Agriculture & Human Sciences and three departments.

 

In 1998, the building was dedicated to Joe W. Autry, Vice President Emeritus at Tarleton and a member of the faculty and administration for more than 30 years. Included in this building is a small auditorium, seating 198, equipped with a data projector and digital media.

 

Most labs are conducted at the Tarleton Agriculture Center (College Farm).

 

The Joe W. Autry Building houses:

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, please call at 254-968-9227 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. ? 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Kinesiology

The Tarleton Kinesiology building was dedicated to W.J. Wisdom. W.J. Wisdom was athletic director at Tarleton from 1920-1943 and perhaps influenced more young people for good than any individual that has been associated with Tarleton. Wisdom Gymnasium located within the Kinesiology building was dedicated to Mr. Wisdom for his outstanding contributions to athletics at Tarleton State College from 1920-1943.

 

The building was completed on February 26, 1972. In addition to classrooms and offices, the building also houses weight rooms, swimming pools, and racquetball courts. Basketball Arena Wisdom Gymnasium features an upper and lower level seating arrangement to accommodate 3,000 spectators. Powered retractable bleachers are used on both sides of the upper a lower seating levels to allow additional floor space when seating is not needed. Seating on the lower south side has chair backs, installed in 1999. A four-way viewing scoreboard, installed in 1987 and upgraded in 1996, is located above and in the center of the basketball court with four public address speakers mounted on top. Shot clocks are located on the north and south walls. Aside from its function as a home court for varsity basketball games, the court is marked for two intramural basketball courts and six badminton courts for class instruction.

 

The facility is also used for commencement exercises and concerts. Volleyball Gym On the main floor is Tarleton's varsity volleyball gym - referred to as the "Upper Gym," "South Gym," or the "Volleyball Gym". The gym itself has never had an official name but that doesn't mean that its function is any less important than the "Main Gym," which is home to the Tarleton State basketball teams.

 

The court is a hardwood floor. Seating for approximately 350 spectators is located on the north side floor level in retractable bleachers across from the team benches. An additional 330 spectators can be seated in a loft located above the north side seats. Because of their location directly across from the team benches, fans have an excellent vantage point to see the matches. In 1998, the floor was resurfaced and painted. Several court lines were taken out to emphasize the main (center) volleyball court, giving the volleyball gym a fresh look and making the court stand out as never before. The lower level retractable bleachers were installed in the summer of 1999 and the east side wall was dressed up with logos.

 

Tarleton Sports Medicine Center Student-Athletes participating in Volleyball, Men's and Women's Basketball, Golf, Tennis, and Cheer receive sports medicine healthcare at this facility. There are areas for treatment modalities, rehabilitation, hydrotherapy, and taping and wound care.

 

The Kinesiology building houses the following:

 

Facilities:

 

Access Wisdom Gymnasium houses many sporting events. These activities include men and women's basketball, women's volleyball, and intramural championships. The gym also is used for a concert hall by the Student Programming Association and oftentimes, it is used for commencement ceremonies and other university-wide activities.

 

Next to the Kinesiology building is the Parking Services Center is located north-east of the building. Also located in the same location is the Police Department.

 

If you have any questions concerning the Department Kinesiology, please call at 254-968-9186 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Lamar Johanson Science Building

The Science Building was completed in the Spring of 2001. The $30.8 million dollar facility includes state-of-the-art laboratories for science classes, distance learning facilities, lecture halls, classrooms and a planetarium. The planetarium offers shows to the public as well as thousands of K-12 students. The state-of-the-art planetarium features a 64-seat theater with a 40-foot dome and utilizes 18 dual function slide projectors, two color video projectors, a digital projector and an enormous sound system.

 

Classes taught in the science building include but are not limited to: History, Sociology, Natural Disasters, Chemistry, Biology, Environmental Science,

 

The Science Building houses the following:

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the College of Science and Technology, please call 254-968-9781.

Math Building

The Math Building was constructed in 1930. It was originally the science building until the new science building was constructed in recent years; recent renovation to the math building were completed in 2006. Now the building contains various offices, including Student Disability Services and University Testing. Educator Preparation Services are located on the first floor in Suite 101.

 

The Math Building houses the following:

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the Department of Mathematics, please call at 254-968-9168 or the Department of Psychological Sciences, please call at 254-968-9945 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m, Monday through Friday.

Nursing Building

The 53,000-square-foot, three-story, $23.4-million structure includes classrooms, multimedia rooms, project rooms and a health center. It also houses a state-of-the-art simulation learning center using realistic nursing equipment to prepare students for a real health care environment.

 

The Nursing building houses the Department of Nursing.

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the Department of Nursing, please call at 254-968-9139 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

O.A. Grant Humanities Building

On September 6, 1973, the Tarleton State University administration and faculty hosted a public open house to celebrate the multilevel $2 million building. The building originally opened to house the English, Social Science, Business and Art departments of the university.

 

Classes in the humanities can include but are not limited to: English, Philosophy, Art Appreciation, Art History, Visual and Theater Arts, Art of Film, Arts in Contemporary Society, Fundamentals of Music, and Music Appreciation.

 

The O.A. Grant Humanities Building houses the following:

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the College of Liberal and Fine arts, please call at 254-968-9141 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Teaching Pavilion

Back to Table of Contents

Labs

Agricultural Labs
Dairy Barn
Greenhouse
Horticulture Lab and Greenhouses
Livestock Center
Meats Lab
Poultry Center
Sheep and Goat Barn
Swine Center

Back to Table of Contents

Instructional Labs
Dairy Barn
Green House on Washington Street
Greenhouse
Horticulture Lab and Greenhouses
Livestock Center
Meats Lab
Poultry Center
Science 206 Lab
Science Equipment Lab
Science 207 Lab
Science Equipment Lab
Science 207A Lab
Science Equipment Lab
Science 208 Lab
Science Equipment Lab
Science 218 Lab
Science Equipment Lab
Science 234 Lab
Science Equipment Lab
Science 308 Lab
Science Equipment Lab
Science 330 Lab
Science Equipment Lab
Science 434 Lab
Science Equipment Lab
Sheep and Goat Barn
Tarleton Center 014 Lab
Instruction Lab
Wisdom Gym 105 Lab
Instruction Lab
Wood Shop at ag farm

Built: 2011

Back to Table of Contents

Instructional Technology Labs
Autry 302 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
COBA 204 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
COBA 206 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

COBA 208 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
Engineering and Technology 109 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
FWHIC 440 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

FWHIC 460 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

FWHIC 530 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

Fine Art 110 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
Fine Art 120 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
HYEG 203

Computer Instruction Lab

HYEG 204

Computer Instruction Lab

Howell 202 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

Math 226E Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
Math 227 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
Nursing 207 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

Nursing 208 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

OAG 205 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
OAG 206 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
OAG 208

Computer Instruction Lab

OAG 209 Lab
Computer Instruction Lab
Science 207 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

Science 208 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

Science 218 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

Shafer/CLS 107 Lab

Computer Instruction Lab

Back to Table of Contents

Interactive Television Labs
COBA 108 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Howell 107 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Nursing 108 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Nursing 109 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Science 111 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Tarleton Center 130 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 430 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 440 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Texas A&M Central Texas - TCT 100 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Texas A&M Central Texas - TCT 101 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Texas A&M Central Texas - TCT 156 ITV

Interactive Television Lab

Back to Table of Contents

Open Access Labs
COBA 208 Lab (Open Access)
Open Access Lab
COBA 212 Lab (Open Access)

Open Access Lab

Math 226 Lab (Open Access)
Open Access Lab
Science 207 (Open Access)

Open Access Lab

Science 207A (Open Access)

Open Access Lab

Back to Table of Contents

Research Facilities

Hydrology and Engineering

The Hydrology and Engineering building was built in 1985 with a total 45,047 square footage. There are 46 rooms and offices that make up this facility. The Architect is Dahl Braden PTM, INC. The General Contractor is Rodgers Construction, Inc.

 

Hydrology and Engineering building houses the following:

 

Facilities:

 

If you have any questions concerning the Department of Engineering and Computer Science, please call at 254-968-9863 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Observatory and Hunewell Ranch

The Hunewell Ranch is 1172 acres of land used by Tarleton State University for a variety of educational needs. Located at the Hunewell Ranch, 8 miles east of Stephenville, Texas, the Tarleton State University Observatory is an 840 sq. ft. facility with a 20.5 ft. (wide slit) ash dome used by the Program for Astronomy and Research.

 

Historical Overview: Observatory

A fully robotic research-grade telescope was installed at the Hunewell Ranch and became operational in the Fall of 2005. The observatory is the third largest in Texas and one of the few fully robotic telescopes in the world. The fully robotic feature allows participants to maneuver the motorized telescope through their observation instructions, exploring everything from weather on Mars to near-earth asteroids, and get their results back quickly.

 

The observatory measures 884 total square feet and includes the 20-foot diameter dome with opening and closing capabilities and is viewable through glass from the control room. The office of the Program for Astronomy and Research is located at Hunewell Ranch.

 

If you have any questions concerning the Observatory, please call at 254-968-9730.

Southwest Regional Dairy Center
The Southwest Regional Dairy Center was built in 2009 to provide infrastructure support for teaching, research, and service/outreach programs to meet the need of higher education, the dairy industry, and society in Texas and the southwest.

 

If you have any questions concerning the Southwest Regional Dairy Center, please call at 254-968-9971.

Tarleton Agricultural Center (College Farm)

The Tarleton Agricultural Center (College Farm) is 697.44 acres of land used by Tarleton State University for a variety of educational needs primarily in the College of Agriculture and Human Sciences.

 

Rapid expansion of Tarleton's agriculture-related degree programs in the early to mid-1970s resulted in a $2 million renovation project that included construction of the swine lab, meats lab, two poultry buildings, and a pavilion at the college farm. In addition, the Horticulture Center and Ag mechanics building were added south of campus on Washington Street. In 1982, $2 million in funding was raised to construct the Equine Management Facility in response to the newly introduced horse production program.

 

Early yearbooks, as far back as 1921, featured photographs of the farm, and one of the earlier mentions comes in relation to efforts to make Tarleton part of the Texas A&M University System in 1917.

 

Perhaps because of its heritage as an agricultural school, Tarleton seemed to always have had some sort of college farm facilities for use as teaching labs.

 

A group of students from the Mechanical Arts department built a model replica of the farm which included its two-story residence, barn, silo, and several corrals. They displayed it in the Capital Building in Austin while the legislation was being discussed.

 

In recent years, during Homecoming Week, a part of the land is used for the traditional L.V. Risinger Memorial Bonfire.

 

Facilities:

If you have any questions concerning the Observatory, please call at 254-968-9806.

Back to Table of Contents

Administrative Buildings & Services

Administration Annex

Administration Annex houses:


Facilities:

Administration Annex II

Administration Annex II houses:

 

Facilities:

Administration Building

The Administration Building was built in 1984 to accommodate a growing student population, as well as a greater need for student services. The creation of the Administration Building opened new avenues for the expansion of Tarleton.

 

The Administration Building houses the following:

 

Facilities:

Alumni House

The Alumni House is located on the far, east side of Tarleton State University and is a building rich in Stephenville history. Built in 1915 by Dr. James Cox, the 9th president of Tarleton College, the house was renovated and became the Tarleton Alumni Association headquarters in 2008.

 

This restored bungalow style home is encircled by pristine pecan trees and lush landscaping. The lawn and patio are the perfect setting for the Tarleton Alumni mixers in the spring and summer and of course Homecoming parties. There is available alumni guest parking in the P9 lot. The Gates are Always Open at Tarleton and so are the doors and gardens of the Alumni House.

 

The Alumni House houses the Tarleton Alumni Association.

Barry B. Thompson Student Center

Located at the heart of the Tarleton Campus, the Barry B. Thompson Student Center was opened to students, faculty, staff, guests, and alumni in September 1994. It was built to better serve students and consolidate people on campus.

 

The building is filled with many special features such as balconies, wonderful artifacts, and a sculptured brick mural. The mural was designed by Mara Smith to depict significant events, personalities, and objects in the history of Tarleton. There are close to 1000 artifacts donated by a variety of people.

 

The Thompson Student Center is divided into three levels: lower level, first level, and second level. This building is full of activities and information that are useful to the students. The Thompson Student Center is equipped with a game room, study areas, and lounge areas for the students and faculty to go and unwind.

 

In fall 2002 the Student Center was renamed to honor former Tarleton president and Texas A&M System chancellor Barry B. Thompson.

 

The Barry B. Thompson Student Center houses the following:

 

Facilities:

 

Texas Star Food Court Services include:

Central Plant

Central Receiving

Military Services

Physical Facilities

This Physical Facilities complex includes the Physical Facilities building and surrounding buildings. The Smokestack is also located on the premises.

 

The Physical Facilities houses the following:

Physical Plant

This Physical Facilities complex includes the Physical Plant and surrounding buildings, along with the Smokestack.

 

The Physical Plant houses the following:

Tarleton Center

The Tarleton Center was built in September of 1962.

 

The Tarleton Center houses the following:

 

 Facilities:

Welcome Center

The Welcome Center is located in a one-story building on the east end of campus adjacent to the administration building. The building was built and opened in 1953 with an initial investment of $234,237.

 

The 9,138-square-foot building first housed an infirmary where a full time nurse lived in the building and tended to ill students. The building was built as a conventional hospital with bathrooms between each room. Physicians would make house calls there for the students. In the mid-1970s, the building became a health center run somewhat the way ours is today.

 

In May 1983, the nursing program was moved to this building from the science building. During that time, the nursing center was renovated to establish faculty offices, a nursing skills laboratory, and two classrooms. To accommodate the increasing numbers of students, faculty, and staff, the nursing center went through renovations twice since 1989. In 1994 the classes were converted to a large nursing skills laboratory and the former skills lab was converted to faculty offices. Nursing classes were held in other buildings on campus during the 1993-94 academic year. In Fall 1996 a large portion of the lower level of the Tarleton Center was renovated for the nursing program. This area housed faculty and staff offices, a student computer lab, two large classrooms, one conference/classroom, and a lobby area.

 

In December 2010, a new Nursing Building was built on the corner of Rome Ave. and Vanderbilt St. This provided the Office of School Relations to take advantage of the space made available and expand upon it to provide prospective students and their families with a more homely feel as they explore Tarleton's Stephenville campus. Renovations began in September 2011, and School Relations moved out of the Tarleton Center into the new Welcome Center in June 2012. Oftentimes, perspective students will meet at the Welcome Center before their private tours of the campus begin.

 

This Welcome Center houses the following:

 

Facilities include:

Lounge Area

 

Back to Table of Contents

TTVN

Administration 208 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Administration 210 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Administration Annex 106i TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Business 180 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Nursing 108 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Nursing 109 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Science 111 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 430 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 440 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 450c TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Tarleton Fort Worth - Hickman 518 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Tarleton Midlothian - Building 2, Room 116 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Tarleton Midlothian - Building A, Room 202 TTVN

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Thompson Student Center 130

Texas Televideo Network (TTVN) Videoconference room

Back to Table of Contents

Athletics & Recreation

Cecil Ballow Baseball Complex

Tarleton's baseball complex was dedicated to former Dean of Men and baseball coach, Cecil Ballow, on March 5, 1987. Ballow was appointed Dean of Men in 1948 and retired as Dean of Students in 1979. He was a graduate of Texas A&M and an all-conference shortstop on the Southwest Conference championship baseball team.

 

He was Tarleton's baseball coach for 10 years, with his most successful year coming in 1960, when the Plowboys were a runner-up for the National Junior College Championship. Ballow was selected as a Distinguished Faculty Member and inducted into the Tarleton Athletic Hall of Fame for his accomplishments.

 

Cecil Ballow Baseball Complex has been home to Tarleton State baseball since the program was reinstated in 1988. Construction of the facility began in January of 1987, and it was officially named the Cecil Ballow Baseball Complex in December of the same year to honor the school's former Dean of Students who also was a pioneer in baseball at Tarleton.

 

The field sits adjacent to the Tarleton Horticultural Building on the south side of West Washington Street (Business 377). The playing surface is natural grass and the outfield is framed in center and right by pecan trees. The left field fence runs parallel to Washington Street with a state-of-the-art scoreboard in left center field. The dimensions of the field are 320 feet down the lines, 365 feet in the alleys, and 400 feet to center.

 

An extended net behind and above the left field fence keeps home run balls from entering traffic on Washington Street. The field was lighted for nighttime play in March of 1990. The field was given a new look with the addition of a 120' long and 10' high extension to the center field fence in 1996.

 

The baseball facility features red brick enclosed dugouts, with permanent seating for 550 spectators wrapping around the fence behind home plate. There are bleacher seats down the baselines and the reserved center section has chair back seating.

 

A fully functional press box is located atop of the center seating section and provides ample working space for the scoreboard operator, official statistician and members of the media.

 

Additional facilities include:

Intramural Sports Building

Memorial Stadium

Memorial Stadium on the campus of Tarleton State University was completed in 1977. Recent renovations to the west stands has increased seating capacity to 7,000 spectators for athletic events. The concrete bleachers rest against a dirt berm on the east (home) side of the field with a center section featuring 750 seats with back rests forming a purple "T".

 

The lower level features a concession stand with restrooms, while the press box resides on the upper level. The press box is heated and air-conditioned and is more than 100 feet long. It includes ample working space for press, scouts, sideline communications, film crews, statisticians, public address announcer, scoreboard operators, home and visitor radio stations, and a VIP room.

 

The stadium is bordered on the east and west side by hard-surfaced parking lots, on the north by the intramural complex, and on the south by the Physical Education Field Facility, completed in 1989, housing coaches' offices, a training room, and the sports medicine office. The most recent addition to the track & field complex is a storage/concession/restroom building just to the north of the stands by the jump pits.

 

The stadium is easy to access from Business 377 (Washington Street) by turning at the Harbin Street intersection.

 

Oscar H. Frazier Memorial Track was originally a seven-lane track, completed in 1977. A major facelift was completed in 1989 in time for Tarleton to host the 1990 and 1991 NAIA National Track & Field Championships. Now with eight lanes and an all-weather surface, Frazier Track borders a natural grass field and is encircled by a chain link fence.

 

On August 25, 1977, the track at Tarleton's Memorial Stadium was dedicated to Oscar H. Frazier, a former professor and track coach who joined the Tarleton faculty in 1925. After Frazier served in WWII, he returned to Tarleton until his retirement in 1965. During his coaching tenure, Frazier won 19 state and conference championships and saw many of his athletes go on to major colleges and even the Olympics.

 

Frazier was a graduate of Texas A&M and a member of the Southwest Conference championship track team. He has been selected as a Distinguished Faculty Member and inducted into the Tarleton Athletic Hall of Fame.

 

Facilities:

Potishman-Lard Tennis Courts

The tennis courts are home to the TexAnn tennis team. A recent expansion took the facility from four courts to eight. The four courts closest to W. Sloan St. are open to the public.

Recreational Sports Center

The 70,000-square-foot sports recreation center, complete with a track, gym, and weight room, opened in fall 2007. The two-story building holds four racquetball courts, a weight room, cardio equipment as well as multipurpose rooms, classrooms, and office space.

 

The facility is also home to a climbing wall and an "outdoor pursuits" area, allowing students the opportunity to sign up for such outdoor items as kayaks, tents, and camping equipment.


The Recreational Sports Center houses the Office of Recreational Sports.

 

Facilities:


If you have any questions concerning the Recreational Sports Center, please call at 254-968-9912.

Rodeo Arena

Softball Field

The Tarleton State University Softball Field has served as home to the TexAnns since the program was started in 1996. Construction on the field began in the spring of 1995 and the field was ready for play in January of 1996.

 

Tarleton played its first varsity game on the field on February 19, 1996, winning the second game of a doubleheader against Schreiner College in extra innings.

 

The field dimensions are 190' down the lines and 220' to straight away centerfield. The field itself is laid out in the same direction as the adjacent Cecil Ballow Field, Tarleton's home for baseball games.

 

A scoreboard is in left field and the field is surrounded by chain link fence with windscreen. Among the improvements since the field was initially constructed are the installation of permanent bleachers with a seating capacity of 250, the construction of a press box, and the painting of the Tarleton softball logo (by former Tarleton third baseman Jalayne Rinewalt) on the Tarleton (third-base side) dugout. The grounds also include a hitting tunnel, locker rooms and storage facilities.

 

The enclosed press box has ample room for a scorekeeper, public address announcer, scoreboard operator, and two media personnel. It is lighted, carpeted, heated, and air-conditioned. The press box phone number is 254-968-9677.

 

The field is easily accessible, located on Harbin Drive off Business 377 (West Washington Street) on the far west edge of the Tarleton campus.

Stadium Pressbox

Tarleton Challenge Course

The Tarleton State University Challenge Course is an energizing learning experience. By combining high and low elements, the facilitators/staff will provide clientele with a safe, fun, unique and innovative opportunity to promote group and personal growth, team building as well as communication and trust.

 

Tarleton Challenge Course houses the Office of Recreational Sports Student Life Studies.


Facilities include:

 

 

If you have any questions concerning the Tarleton Challenge Course, please call at 254-968-9910.

Tarleton Sports Medical Center - Baseball / Softball

Student-Athletes participating in Baseball and Softball receive sports medicine healthcare at this facility.  There are areas for treatment modalities, rehabilitation, hydrotherapy, and taping and wound care.

Tarleton Sports Medicine Center - Memorial Stadium

Student-Athletes participating in Football, Men's and Women's Track & Field, and Men's and Women's Cross Country receive sports medicine healthcare at this facility.  There are areas for treatment modalities, rehabilitation, hydrotherapy, and taping and wound care.

Vance Terrell Intramural Complex

Tarleton's intramural complex was dedicated on October 19, 1985, to a person described by many as "the man who made Tarleton," Dr. Vance Terrell. Dr. Terrell graduated from the University of Texas Medical School and established the Stephenville Hospital and Clinic in 1923 with his brother, Dr. J.C. Terrell.

 

He has been actively involved in Tarleton's development and was instrumental in getting Tarleton elevated to a four-year college in 1959. He was also involved in raising funds to construct Memorial Stadium in the '50s, and led renovation and expansion efforts in the '70s. Dr. Terrell is a Distinguished Alumnus and a member of the President's Club and President's Commission. Dr. Terrell is credited with bringing the nursing program to Tarleton.

 

If you have any questions concerning the Vance Terrell Intramural Complex, please call at 254-968-9952.

Wisdom Gym

Kinesiology's gymnasium is dedicated to W.J. Wisdom. W.J. Wisdom was athletic director at Tarleton from 1920-1943 and perhaps influenced more young people for good than any individual that has been associated with Tarleton. Wisdom Gymnasium was dedicated to Mr. Wisdom for his outstanding contributions to athletics at Tarleton State College from 1920-1943.

 

The building was completed on February 26, 1972. In addition to classrooms and offices, the building also houses weight rooms, swimming pools, and racquetball courts.

 

Basketball Arena Wisdom Gymnasium features an upper and lower level seating arrangement to accommodate 3,000 spectators. Powered retractable bleachers are used on both sides of the upper lower seating levels to allow additional floor space when seating is not needed. Seating on the lower south side has chair backs, installed in 1999. A four-way viewing scoreboard, installed in 1987 and upgraded in 1996, is located above and in the center of the basketball court with four public address speakers mounted on top. Shot clocks are located on the north and south walls. Aside from its function as a home court for varsity basketball games, the court is marked for two intramural basketball courts and six badminton courts for class instruction.

 

The Wisdom Gym houses the Department of Kinesiology.

 

Wisdom Gymnasium houses many sporting events, these activities include:

 

The gym also is used as a concert hall by the Student Programming Association and oftentimes, it is used for commencement ceremonies and other university-wide activities.

 

Facilities: Basketball Arena

Women's Athletic Facility

Back to Table of Contents

Construction

Construction Area for the new engineering building

The $54-million, state-of-the-art, facility will provide space for many programs currently housed in several facilities across the Stephenville campus. Civil engineering, electrical engineering, environmental engineering, engineering technology and newly approved mechanical engineering degree programs will finally be united under one roof upon the completion of this project. Completion is set for late fall 2018. 

Back to Table of Contents

Alternate Pedestrian Routes

Alternate Pedestrian Routes
Alternate Pedestrian Routes - W. Vanderbilt
Alternate Pedestrian Routes - Neblett
Alternate Pedestrian Routes - Vanderbilt
Temporary Pedestrian Walk-though
Temporary pedestrian walk-through

Back to Table of Contents

New Projects

Construction Area for the new engineering building
The $54-million, state-of-the-art, facility will provide space for many programs currently housed in several facilities across the Stephenville campus. Civil engineering, electrical engineering, environmental engineering, engineering technology and newly approved mechanical engineering degree programs will finally be united under one roof upon the completion of this project. Completion is set for late fall 2018. 
P27 - Addition
Faculty/Staff parking

Back to Table of Contents

Temporary Parking & Road Closures

Cain closed to thru traffic
Parking closed due to construction
Part of P15 lot and DocBlanchard Blvd is currently fenced off during construction for pedestrian safety.
Parking closed due to construction.
Parking in P4 will be unavailable through the completion of the Moody Hall renovation. 
Road closed to through traffic for construction

Back to Table of Contents

Dining

Chick-fil-a

Chick-fil-a is a proven hit on campus. Whether for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, patrons can always depend on Chick-fil-a to deliver high quality taste in sandwich or salad.

 

Hours of operation: Monday - Thursday: 10:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. Friday: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Dining Hall

In 2008, the 42,000-square-feet structure replaced the original dining hall constructed in 1928, and features buffet lines with various cuisines and a salad bar. The two-story facility also features a convenience store, executive meeting rooms, and a cafe with a wireless network.

 

Tarleton's previous dining hall only accommodated approximately 350 students at one time, whereas the new facility will have a capacity of 700 students. For student convenience, the new dining hall is an extension of the Barry B. Thompson Student Center.

 

Facilities:

Study Grounds Cafe

Getting to that early morning class may be a problem, but not if you have visited Study Grounds Café. Whether you are getting that morning coffee or late night energy boost, Study Grounds Café in the Dick Smith Library can get your fix. The café features everything from fresh drip coffee, cappuccinos, frappuccinos, pastries salads, ice cold sodas and more!

Texan Star Food Court

Need something quick when you are on the go? In between classes and need to study for a big test? The Texan Star Food Court has exactly what you need. The food Court has several stations Grill 155, Sub Connection, Fiesta Cocina, and Chick-Fil-A!

Back to Table of Contents

Outreach Locations

Southwest Regional Dairy Center

The Southwest Regional Dairy Center was built in 2009 to provide infrastructure support for teaching, research, and service/outreach programs to meet the need of higher education, the dairy industry, and society in Texas and the southwest.

 

If you have any questions concerning the Southwest Regional Dairy Center, please call at 254-968-9971.

Tarleton Agricultural Center (College Farm)

The Tarleton Agricultural Center (College Farm) is 697.44 acres of land used by Tarleton State University for a variety of educational needs primarily in the College of Agriculture and Human Sciences.

 

Rapid expansion of Tarleton's agriculture-related degree programs in the early to mid-1970s resulted in a $2 million renovation project that included construction of the swine lab, meats lab, two poultry buildings, and a pavilion at the college farm. In addition, the Horticulture Center and Ag mechanics building were added south of campus on Washington Street. In 1982, $2 million in funding was raised to construct the Equine Management Facility in response to the newly introduced horse production program.

 

Early yearbooks, as far back as 1921, featured photographs of the farm, and one of the earlier mentions comes in relation to efforts to make Tarleton part of the Texas A&M University System in 1917.

 

Perhaps because of its heritage as an agricultural school, Tarleton seemed to always have had some sort of college farm facilities for use as teaching labs.

 

A group of students from the Mechanical Arts department built a model replica of the farm which included its two-story residence, barn, silo, and several corrals. They displayed it in the Capital Building in Austin while the legislation was being discussed.

 

In recent years, during Homecoming Week, a part of the land is used for the traditional L.V. Risinger Memorial Bonfire.

 

Facilities:

If you have any questions concerning the Observatory, please call at 254-968-9806.

Back to Table of Contents

Tarleton State University - Fort Wor

Southwest Metroplex - Hickman Building

Tarleton State University Southwest Metroplex in Fort Worth is an outreach teaching site of Tarleton State University, has operated programs serving the needs of Tarrant, Johnson and Parker Counties for over 30 years.

 

Initial programs started in 1978 in the area of Medical Laboratory Science which provide critically needed health care professionals for the rapidly growing metroplex. Those programs were followed by cooperative programs with the Fort Worth ISD to offer an alternative teacher certification program to meet critical needs for teachers in 2000. Since that time, Tarleton has expanded program offerings at this location, to include a variety of programs in Education, Counseling, Business, Psychology, Industrial Engineering, and Criminal Justice. Programs include both master's level course work, and junior/senior level courses for baccalaureate degree completion. Baccalaureate degree completion programs are designed to build upon associate programs offered at Tarrant County Community College and Weatherford College.

 

Tarleton State University - Fort Worth offers 10 graduate degrees, 12 undergraduate degrees, and 7 certification options.

 

Address: 6777 Camp Bowie Blvd., Suite 500, Fort Worth, TX, 76116

 

Phone: 817-732-7300

Terrell School - Schaffer Education Building

The Terrell School and Schaffer Education Building in Fort Worth offers a continuous 16-month professional laboratory curriculum, totaling 54 semester hours, with 10 months in the teaching center and 6 months in the clinical affiliate.

 

Tarleton offers a bachelor's degree in Clinical Laboratory Science through the Terrell School. It is accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs in cooperation with the National Accrediting agency for Medical Laboratory Sciences.

 

The Schaffer Building houses the Department of Medical Laboratory Science.

 

Facilities:

 

Address: 1501 Enderly Pl., Fort Worth, TX, 76104

Phone: 817-926-1101

Weatherford College

Location:


225 College Park Dr.


Weatherford, TX 76086


 


Phone Number:


(817) 732-7300


 


Website


 


Overview:


This college houses the office of Tarleton State University - Weatherford, University Outreach Program: Tarleton State University at Weatherford College, Weatherford, Texas

Back to Table of Contents

Tarleton State University - Midlothi

Navarro College

Navarro College houses the following:

 

Address: 899 Mount Zion Rd., Midlothian, TX, 76065

Phone: 855-444-6432

Back to Table of Contents

Tarleton State University - Waco

McLennan Community College

Tarleton State University-Waco, an outreach teaching site of Tarleton State University, has operated programs serving the needs of McLennan County as a four-year partner at the University Center hosted by McLennan Community College (MCC-UC).

 

Waco and McLennan County represent a rapidly growing population not served by a four year public institution. In response to community need for baccalaureate and master's level degree programs McLennan Community College established a University Center to host four year-institutional partners to offer those degrees on the MCC campus, with Tarleton as one of the inaugural partners. Since that time, Tarleton has expanded program offerings at this location, to include a variety of programs in Education, Counseling, Business, Psychology, Industrial Engineering, Criminal Justice and Agriculture. Programs include both master's level course work, and junior/senior level courses for baccalaureate degree completion. Baccalaureate degree completion programs are designed to build upon associate programs offered at McLennan Community College.

 

Tarleton - Waco has a diverse student population comprised mostly of working-adults seeking master's degrees and community college graduates or returning students seeking baccalaureate completion degrees. Classes are offered in the evenings, days and weekends to accommodate both part-time and full-time students. Advisors and support staff are available to assist with admission and degree plans.

 

Administrative offices for Waco Programs are located at 1400 College Drive, in Waco at the University Center Learning Technology Building, on MCC campus. Classrooms are used at various locations on the MCC Campus.

 

Five graduate level master's degree programs, seven undergraduate degree programs and four certification options are available through our Waco outreach teaching site.

 

Address: 1400 College Drive, Waco, TX, 76708

Phone: 254-299-8322

Back to Table of Contents

Public & Performance Venues

Museums

Dora Lee Langdon Cultural and Educational Center - Granbury, Texas

The Langdon center is named for well-known Granbury composer, musician, and philanthropist, Dora Lee Langdon and opened in June 1996.

 

The Langdon center provides facilities and opportunities for Tarleton to develop and expand educational and cultural programs in the Hood County area. The Langdon Center is situated one block from Granbury's historic square and encompasses one entire city block and has three-historic buildings on site.

 

The Langdon center exposes residents and visitors in the region to fine arts, promotes individual artists and performers and specializes in facilitating for non-traditional courses and educational retreats, as well as servicing the region with a strong community education program.

 

The Langdon Center houses the following:

 

Address: 308 W Pearl St, Granbury, TX 76048

Phone:(817) 279-1164

W. K. Gordon Center - Thurber, Texas

The W.K. Gordon Center, a museum and research facility of Tarleton State University, is located on Interstate 20 at the site of the Thurber ghost town at exit 367 midway between Fort Worth and Abilene.

 

Thurber was a coal mining town seventy miles west of Fort Worth that boasted 10,000 inhabitants. With an economy based on underground mining for bituminous coal and the manufacture of bricks fired in kilns fueled by coal, the town thrived from the 1880s to the 1930s.

 

The TPM&M Company, as a subsidiary of the coal company, operated the town and ran all of its commercial enterprises. These included: mercantile stores, theater, livery stable, printing shop, drugstore, lumberyard, water system, gas system, ice plant, and even saloons.

 

W. K. Gordon Center is now a museum and visitors' center dedicated to the preservation, research, and recording of Texas industrial history including coal mining, brick making, and oil and gas exploration.

 

Address: 65258 IH 20 Mingus, Tx, 76463

 

Phone Number: 254-968-1886

Back to Table of Contents

Public Venues

Equine Center
Green House on Washington Street
Meats Lab
TSC Ballroom A

The ballrooms are located on the main level of the Thompson Student Center. They can seat up to 120 per ballroom and are available to rent out. They are free to student organizations during normal operating hour. It is possible to rent out more than one ballroom.

 

Amenities:

 

Additional Costs:

TSC Ballroom B

The ballrooms are located on the main level of the Thompson Student Center. They can seat up to 120 per ballroom and are available to rent out. They are free to student organizations during normal operating hour. It is possible to rent out more than one ballroom.

 

Amenities:

 

Additional Costs:

TSC Ballroom C

The ballrooms are located on the main level of the Thompson Student Center. They can seat up to 120 per ballroom and are available to rent out. They are free to student organizations during normal operating hour. It is possible to rent out more than one ballroom.

 

Amenities:

 

Additional Costs:

TSC Conference Room 130

Conference Room 130 is located on the main level of the Thompson Student Center. The room holds 20 people.

 

Amenities:

TSC Conference Room 219

Conference Room 219 is located on the second floor of the Thompson Student Center. The room holds 51 people.

 

Amenities:

TSC Conference Room 27

Conference Room 27 is located on the lower level of the Thompson Student Center. The room holds 80 people.

 

Amenities:

TSC Conference Room 28

Conference Room 28 is located on the lower level of the Thompson Student Center. The room holds 10 people.

 

Amenities:

Back to Table of Contents

Visual & Performing Arts

FAC Auditorium

The auditorium hosts recitals, band, and choir concerts and plays. It is also used to hold meetings that are for the staff and faculty.

 

It has a full or portable concert shell. and access to the dressing room and green room. There is also an entryway for large equipment and standard curtains with blacks and grand drape. It is capable of amplification and recording the event that is happening.

 

Wooden Stage Dimensions:  45'X55' plus wing space, Entrances:  14,  Seating Capacity:  805

FAC Box Office

The Box Office

FAC Gallery Exhibit

The Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center Gallery hosts six art shows each year.

 

The schedule includes exhibits of works by professional artists who share their unique insights and knowledge of their media of choice with Tarleton Art students and those of the Cross Timbers region who appreciate art.

 

Each fall and spring semester closes with annual student art shows, where Tarleton art seniors and students get the opportunity to display the work they completed over the course of the semester.

FAC Theater

The theater is used for plays and sketches and is able to hold up to 243 people. It is capable of amplification and recording the event that is happening.

 

It has a portable concert shell and access to the dressing room and green room. There is an entryway for large equipment and standard curtains with blacks and grand drape.

 

Wooden Stage Dimensions:  30' X 30' plus wing space, Stage Revolve:  21'6" in diameter

FAC Workshop Theater

The Workshop Theater can seat up to 90 people and is where the Improv at Tarleton troupe does their sketches and plays. It also hosts smaller shows and performances because of the seating.

 

Wooden floor area in trapezoidal shape (44' x 28'). It has a single curtain drape and access to the dressing rooms and green room. There is also an entryway for large equipment.

Langdon Center Concert Hall

Back to Table of Contents

Safety & Security

Police Station

The Police Department is located on the North East corner of the Kinesiology building.

 

The duties of the Tarleton State University Police Department include:

Back to Table of Contents

Defibrillator (AED)

Admin Annex 1 Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
Risk Management AED mobile unit located in Room 109. 
Administration Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on 1st floor near elevator. 
Agricultural Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
1st floor lobby by the east entrance.  
Business Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on 1st floor in Break Room 169.
Dick Smith Library Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED Located on Ground Level Floor Near Main Circulation Desk
Dining Hall Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on the 1st floor of the West entrance by the stairs.
Equine Center Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located in Main Office. 
Field House Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED Located In Athletic Training Room on left wall just inside door
Fine Arts Center Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED Located Near East Exit by Fire Panel on 1st Floor
Legends Hall Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located near front desk on 1st floor
Math Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
 on the 1st floor lobby by the north entrance. 
Nursing Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on 1st floor near break room by vending machines. 
O.A. Grant Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on 1st floor by North entrance between elevator and stairs. 
Police Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
Mobile units located in the Police vehicles. 
Rec Sports Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED Located on 2nd Floor at top of Stairs by Tracks.
Rec Sports Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on 1st floor near East Doors.
Rec Sports Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED Mobile Unit behind front desk. 
Science Building Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
Automated External Defibrillator (AED) located on the 1st floor lobby by the north entrance. 
Sports Medical Facility Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
2 Mobile AED units located in Offices.
Student Center Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on the 2nd floor in the Health Clinic
Welcome Center Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on the wall by North entrance. 
Wisdom Gym Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on the 1st floor in the hall near the weight room.
Wisdom Gym Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located in the Psycle lab on 1st floor. 
Wisdom Gym Automated External Defibrillator (AED)
AED located on the lower level near the Gym floor

Back to Table of Contents

Public Storm Shelters

Kinesiology Building
Thompson Student Center

Back to Table of Contents

Services

Post Office

Located in the ground floor of the Thompson Student Center, the post office is a fully functional USPS station offering all USPS services except cashing of postal money orders, but because it is a contract station, it can also receive UPS, FedEx, and DHL.

Back to Table of Contents

ATM

Library Printing Station
Thompson Student Center Lobby

Back to Table of Contents

Silver Taps

Alumni Island Ceremony and Roll Call

The roll call and candle lighting ceremony will be held at the Alumni Island. This will include the following acts:

P10 Ceremony Parking Lot

Gated parking lot opens to visitors for the ceremony after 5:00 p.m. Drive onto N Lillian Street from W Washington Street to access the parking lot.

Reception and Seating Area

Reception and seating area for the ceremony will be held at the Limestone Outdoor Terrace

Back to Table of Contents

Transportation

Cart Free Zone

Cart Free Zone - SAP

Shuttle Routes

Shuttle bus routes between The Grove and Mustang Ranch apartment complexes and the Stephenville campus.

 

Two shuttles will be in service Monday through Thursday during peak hours. On Fridays, one shuttle will be in service. Hours of service are:

 

The shuttle bus is expected to arrive at pick-up and drop-off locations every 15 minutes, with the route repeating at :00, :15, :30 and :45 of each hour. Shuttle stops last one minute before each departure.

 

Live shuttle location can be seen at www.tarletonstateuniversityshuttle.com.

Shuttle Stop

Pick-up and drop-off stop for The Grove and Mustang Ranch tenants traveling to Tarleton.

Shuttle Stop on Campus

Shuttle stop on campus that takes students from The Grove and Mustang Ranch to campus and back.

Back to Table of Contents

Bike Stations

Centennial Hall - Bike Share Station
Hunewell Annex Hall - Bike Share Station
Library - Bike Share Station
P20 - Bike Share Station
P34 - Bike Share Station
P41 - Bike Share Station

Back to Table of Contents

Landmarks

Alumni House

The Alumni House is located on the far, east side of Tarleton State University and is a building rich in Stephenville history. Built in 1915 by Dr. James Cox, the 9th president of Tarleton College, the house was renovated and became the Tarleton Alumni Association headquarters in 2008.

 

This restored bungalow style home is encircled by pristine pecan trees and lush landscaping. The lawn and patio are the perfect setting for the Tarleton Alumni mixers in the spring and summer and of course Homecoming parties. There is available alumni guest parking in the P9 lot. The Gates are Always Open at Tarleton and so are the doors and gardens of the Alumni House.

 

The Alumni House houses the Tarleton Alumni Association.

Alumni Island and Three Penny Triangle

Alumni Island features the statue of our founding father, John Tarleton and his pet duck Oscar P. This statue is 10 feet tall and is a symbol of history, tradition, and far-reaching vision.

 

The island located between the women's residence halls and the original dining hall was a popular place to gather and watch friends cruise by before the Washington Street entrance to Tarleton was closed and the Administration building was constructed. Students regularly used the area to meet and socialize between classes and after eating at the dining hall. After the latest improvements and additions were completed in 2015, Alumni Island has experienced a surge in activity.

 

The story goes that while cement was being poured in the triangular shaped area, a group of students placed newly minted pennies at each of the points. The 1974 pennies that are currently located at the triangle are not original to the site, but their date does match that first investment.

Cannon

Possibly the most famous landmark on the Tarleton campus is a World War I cannon located in front of the Education Building under an oak tree. The cannon was brought to Tarleton from Fort Sam Houston in 1922 to be used in ROTC training. The cadets exhibited their expertise on the field piece at Parents' Day and on other special occasions.

 

It is reported that around 1928, during the early days of the rivalry between Tarleton and North Texas Agricultural College (the "Grubs"), the cannon was stolen by NTAC students and dumped into the Bosque River. E. A. "Doc" Blanchard, who came to Tarleton in 1926 as a manual arts instructor, said the students hauled the cannon off the Tarleton campus around 5 a.m., headed out Texas Highway 377, veered off to the north as they approached the Bosque River bridge, and rolled the cannon into the river. Blanchard and Ed Emmett, Tarleton maintenance foreman, and a crew of men, pulled the cannon out of the river with a tractor and hauled it back to the campus. Several wheel spokes were broken during the ordeal, and Blanchard made new spokes by hand since the college had no wood-turning equipment at that time.

 

In the early 1930's, the cannon was placed at its present site. For many years, there was a weekly ceremony, called "Retreat Parade", for the ROTC in which the cannon played an important part. In this ceremony, the U.S. flag in front of the Administration Building (now the E.J. Howell Building) was lowered, "taps" was played and the cannon was fired. This ceremony continued for many years until the university was forced to silence the cannon. Legend has it that if a virgin walks in front of it, it will fire.

 

Thanks to the classes of 1991 & 1992 the cannon has been restored to its original condition. The spokes have been replaced and the entire cannon sandblasted and painted its original color.

Hunewell Bandstand

The Hunewell Bandstand was a gift from the classes of 1926, 1927, and 1928 and was constructed by Tarleton staff and students with rock quarried and hauled from the College Farm. The Bandstand provided a stage for the bands of D.J. Hunewell for over 30 years but was razed in 1963 to make room for the current Tarleton Center.


Over the years several attempts were made to rebuild the bandstand, but finally a fundraising drive by the Tarleton Alumni Association was responsible for the reconstruction of the bandstand and its subsequent dedication at Homecoming 2005. A bronze plaque at the site, mounted on a pedestal created with rock from the original bandstand, relates the history of the structure.

J-TAC Hearts

In 1926 a rock retaining wall was built bordering the north side of Military Drive. The letters “JTAC”, encompassed by two hearts, were mortared into the wall immediately across the street from Hunewell Hall. A block “T” and a five-pointed star are located in the wall immediately west of the “J-TAC”.

John Tarleton Bronze

Stephenville artist Leon McCoy designed the statue of John Tarleton which is located at the south entrance of the Administration building. The bronze was a gift to the University upon the opening of the building in 1986, given by the Classes of 1983, 1984, 1985, and 1986.

 

Excerpt from John Tarleton's Biography in the Purple Book:

“In his will, Tarleton said he had about $85,000 which he would like to donate to a school. He first considered leaving the money for a school in Palo Pinto and then Weatherford, but George proposed Stephenville. Tarleton had had an unfortunate encounter with a tax collector in Stephenville and was not pleased with the idea of leaving his money there. George persuaded him, however, and the bequest was left to the struggling Stephenville college that was doomed unless financial aid arrived.

 

Tarleton contracted typhoid fever in the fall of 1895 and died on September 11, 1895. In addition to the funds for John Tarleton College, his property in Tennessee was willed to establish John Tarleton Institution.

 

John Tarleton College opened its doors on September 3, 1899 with W. H. Bruce as president. In 1917, the college became part of The Texas A&M University System and the name was changed to John Tarleton Agricultural College.”

 

John Tarleton Memorial

Originally buried in Patillo, John Tarleton’s body was removed from its first resting place in April 1926 and taken to the college campus, where it remained for two years. In April, 1928, an expanding campus required that Tarleton’s body be moved again. The subsequent construction of an auditorium made it necessary to move the body to its final resting place at the southwest edge of the campus in a triangular park. A granite marker in the park’s center is inscribed simply “John Tarleton.”

Library Time Capsule

During the 1984 library renovation, the original 1956 time capsule was almost lost. Maintenance workers, Luther Williams and Eddie Amos, placed the time capsule into the wall, under the tile close to the entrance in 1956 when the then new library was dedicated. The time capsule’s location was only known to a few, and not marked in any form. Had it not been for Williams, the time capsule and all of the memorabilia may have been lost.

 

In 1983, during library renovation, Williams recalled the time capsule and asked if they had found it. He contacted administration and let them know exactly where to look for the time capsule. When Williams was sent to look for it, the foyer had already been removed and none of the construction workers remembered seeing it. Many figured that the time capsule had been lost.

 

A construction worker found the time capsule days later when he was examining a plumbing duct.

 

Tarleton Librarian at the time, Dr. Kenneth Jones, examined the contents of the time capsule. They included pictures of campus life, movie reels of the campus, architectural plans of the library and several other buildings, a yearbook, a calendar, and several letters written by members of the Tarleton faculty and administration to future generations.

 

After the 2006 library renovation was completed, contents were added to the time capsule, and it was placed back into the entry way of the library. "In order not to repeat 1984, the time capsule will be resealed, but this time it will be well-marked," said Donna Savage, University Librarian.

 

"These artifacts from 1956, 1984, and 2006 represent the evolution from Tarleton State College to Tarleton State University, and will capture the past and the present for the next generation," said Savage. The capsule will be reopened in 2056.

Limestone Outdoor Terrace

The Limestone Terrace began construction in the Fall of 2016 beside the Alumni Island. It was finished in the Spring of 2017 and will be used to hold future outdoor events. The Silver Taps Ceremony is now being held in both the terrace and the Alumni Island.

Military Memorial

The Military Memorial, located in Heritage Oaks Park, was built by the Tarleton Alumni Association and dedicated on May 29, 2001. The red granite cube rests in the center of a circular plaza and honors the men and women of Tarleton who served in the military during peace and war. A single gold dollar coin was placed in the center beneath the granite cube. The coin is facing heads up and is a 1999 issue to commemorate the university centennial.

 

Organizational Sidewalk

Completed and dedicated on June 24, 1994, the organizational sidewalk is dedicated to the student organizations of Tarleton State University. Born from an idea of the Pi Sigma Epsilon Marketing Fraternity, the sidewalk is a walking tour of university organizations.

 

Over sixty organizations were allowed to place original designs representing their organizations in the sidewalk which used to run along Vanderbilt Street in front of the Thompson Student Center. In the summer of 2010, the organizational sidewalk was moved behind the Thompson Student Center alongside the sidewalk off Jones Street.

Pearl Mahan Rock

The granite rock, after residing for a time in back of the brick wall that encircled the President's home, was placed southeast of the Education Building in Heritage Oaks Park.

 

The story goes that the class of '31 had very little money to put toward a gift to honor Professor Mahan - slightly more than enough to engrave the granite. In order to make the gift more meaningful, some class members from the Mable Falls-Fredericksburg area hired a truck to deliver the big granite rock to campus.

Rock Gate

The rock gates that are located in three campus locations are among Tarleton's more recognizable landmarks. The gates on Tarleton Street were a significant part of Tarleton life in the 1950s. During this time, they were the only entrance to campus.

 

The most symbolic of these entrances is located at the intersection of Military Drive and Mcllhaney Street at the east end of campus. This gate was designed by manual arts director E.A. Funkhouser and financed by the graduate class of 1925. Ten years later, the class of 1935 donated the metal part of this gateway. (This is the actual portion that opens and closes.) The entire entrance was widened in the early 1960s. This modification was necessitated by a minor emergency in which fire engines were unable to fit through the gates during a Dining Hall fire. Today, this gateway only serves as an exit from the campus.

 

A second gateway is located in front of the new Administration building on Washington Street. The classes of 1932 and 1934 paid for this addition. These gates were closed to thru-traffic in 1984 when construction began on the Administration building. The closing of this entrance created a bit of consternation among the student body because it interrupted the social ritual of driving up and down Washington Street. This certain gate had provided a very handy route from which to return to the campus.

 

The third gate is located at the intersection of Vanderbilt Street and Doc Blanchard Boulevard. It was built courtesy of the Class of 1933. This entrance is the most heavily utilized of the three stone gateways as it provides access in and out of many faculty and staff parking lots. It is also the most convenient course for traffic coming to and from the girls' dorms (Guthrie 63, 255, King 150, Traditions 28, 33).

 

Rock Wall

The stone wall that runs along the north side of Military Drive began around the same time as the gateway at the front entrance. It begins at the eastern stone gate, runs in front of the E.J. Howell building, and ends at Doc Blanchard Boulevard. This structure stands between two and three feet tall and was designed by manual arts director E.A. Funkhouser. The college paid for the project and student workers provided much of the labor. This entire section of wall was completed by 1928.

 

Eventually, a similar stone fence was built which surrounded the entire forty acres of the original campus. It is slightly taller than the Military Drive wall, standing almost five feet high in some areas. This project was completed throughout the 1930s, probably as a part of the Works Project Administration that employed many during the Great Depression era.

 

President W. O. Trogdon ordered several segments of this barrier to be torn down during his administration in between 1966 and 1982. These removals usually coincided with various campus construction projects. Occasionally, a suggestion is made requesting that the entire wall be demolished. However, it still remains one of the most familiar sights at Tarleton.

Smokestack Behind Physical Plant

Built in 1923 at a cost of $4,500, the smokestack is located on the northeast corner of the campus. Legend has it that a student from NTAC flew over the campus and threw a brick inside the stack. The smokestack is no longer in use, but remains a Tarleton landmark. The smokestack was restored in 1998 with "Tarleton" painted down the side.

 

A campus legend proclaims that an invader from North Texas Agricultural College (NTAC) flew an airplane over the smokestack and dropped a brick down the shaft. Thus far, investigators have yet to probe the depths of the pipe in search of this foreign object.

Stenholm Office Exhibit

Stenholm Office Exhibit, originally located in the lower floor of the Dick Smith Library, was moved to the south hall in the Tarleton Center in fall 2010.The Stenholm Exhibit includes a replica of Charles W. Stenholm’s congressional office as well as drawings and photos that are rotated out throughout the year. Charles is a former United States Representative and Tarleton Alumnus.

 

The Texas Political History – The Charles Stenholm Collection project is the archiving of the 359 boxes of former Congressman Stenholm’s legislative papers. Upon completion, these documents will be publicly available at the Dick Smith Library and online. The Stenholm Office Exhibit was moved to the O. A. Grant Humanities building in 2014.

T-Bench

A concrete bench in the shape of a block "T" was the Class of 1942's gift to the university. It is located just east of the Hunewell Annex residence Hall.

The Texan

Although Tarleton's athletic history dates back to 1904, no current records indicate a nickname for its athletic teams until 1917. It was upon joining The Texas A&M University System in 1917 that the Tarleton athletic teams became known as the "Junior Aggies."

 

In 1925 legendary coach and athletics director W.J. Wisdom offered the attractive figure of $5.00 to any student who could come up with a sports moniker that he liked. The story has it that one day while walking across campus the nickname "Plowboys" (many of Tarleton's athletes then were agricultural students with rural and farming backgrounds) popped into his head. Wisdom liked the name so much he kept the $5.00.

 

The athletic teams remained the Plowboys throughout Tarleton's junior college days, when the college was known as John Tarleton Agricultural College, or JTAC for short.

 

In 1961, college officials decided to have a contest to come up with a new athletic nickname to reflect Tarleton's new status as a four-year college. The top three vote-getters were "Texans," "Rockets," and "Packrats." Given the three choices, "Texans" was chosen. All the men's athletic teams were referred to as the "Texans", and the women's teams slowly became known as the "TexAnns".

 

In 1961, the horse and rider representing the Texan became Tarleton’s mascot. A student is selected each year to serve as the Texan at official events. Designed by Nelda Lee, the mosaic located in front of the Tarleton Center was a gift from the Class of 1967.

 

Time Capsule

A Sesquicentennial time capsule was placed next to the Pearl Mahan Rock in 1986 in recognition of Texas' 150th anniversary.

Trogdon House

Built under the supervision of Dean J. Thomas Davis, the house was constructed primarily by student labor at an original cost of $8,000. The exterior walls are approximately 18 inches thick and are a combination of wood studs, native rock, and several layers of concrete plaster.

 

Dean Davis and his family occupied the home until 1948, followed by President E.J. Howell and his family, who lived in the house from 1948 to 1966. Tarleton's 12th President, Dr. W.O. Trogdon lived in the home from 1966 to 1982. By resolution of The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, it became known as the Trogdon House in honor of Dr. Trogdon and served as a university office building from 1982 until 2009.

 

In 2009, Dr. Mike McKinney, Chancellor of The Texas A&M University System, and Tarleton's 15th President F. Dominic Dottavio recognized the importance of the structure in the life of the university and its need for preservation and rehabilitation. To accomplish the needed work, Dr. Dottavio initiated a fundraising campaign which was led by long-time supporters of the university, Col. Will Tate and Ben and Nellie Baty.

 

Renovations were completed in 2010 and Dr. Dottavio and his wife Lisette Dottavio became residents in an apartment on the second floor. Now the Trogdon House once again plays an important and historic role in the life of Tarleton as a dedicated venue for many campus events.

 

It is with sincere gratitude that Tarleton State University recognizes the leadership, vision and generosity of those who made the renovation of the Trogdon House possible: Col. Will Tate, Ben and Nellie Baty, Drs. Dominic and Lisette Dottavio, Tarleton State University Foundation, Inc., Merit Roofing Systems, Alpha Building Corporation, Darren Carpenter and Scott's Flowers, Parker and Associates Sodexo, Inc., IMC Corporation, Erath Plumbing, Dura-Mar of Granbury, Robi Rhea and James Lehr.

 

ULTRA

ULTRA is the sculpture adjacent to the Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center, given to Tarleton by Ernie and Hugh Wolfe as a memorial to Dean J. Thomas Davis. The work is of steel, fabricated by artist John Gregg. It is 18' high and weighs approximately 2,000 pounds.

 

Designated as a symbol for "unlocking limits that restrict achievement," the tip of the solid white sculpture points due north. From the sculpture stemmed the Due North newsletter and the ULTRA Club, which supports student in the Department of Fine Arts.

University Park

University Park, located on Lillian across from the Library and Fine Arts Center, was a project of the student government in the early 1970's, marking Tarleton's transition from college to university.

Water Tower

Excerpts from "Cross Timbers Historic Images Project: The 1939 Bonfire Incident" by Chris Guthrie:

 

"Despite these precautions, NTAC students still occasionally managed to invade the Tarleton campus. In 1937, for example, they ‘stormed’ Tarleton the Tuesday before the big game, destroyed the wood that had been collected for the bonfire, stole several signs from the campus, and smeared the school's water tower with black paint. The dean of NTAC at the time, E.E. Davis (contrary to some accounts, he was not related to J. Thomas Davis - although he did attend Tarleton as a student between 1900-1905 and taught biology between 1909 and 1911), apologized for the incident, vowed to ‘penalize’ those students involved in the invasion, promised that the stolen signs would be returned, and offered to pay the expenses involved in repairing the water tower. Newspaper accounts of the 1937 raid hinted that it may have been in retaliation for a similar, though unsuccessful, attempt by Tarleton students to ignite the NTAC bonfire a few days earlier."

 

"Tarleton students on the ground, quickly realizing what was about to transpire, did everything they could to protect their bonfire. Student Mickey Maguire climbed on top of the pile of wood with a garden hose and soaked it down, hoping to make the site more resistant to any premature blaze. Other students picked up whatever they could find - sticks, stones, cans - and threw them at the Phillips' aircraft. Philips braved this ground barrage and dropped one of his bombs on the target. However, Tarleton students quickly removed the device before it could do any harm. Philips began to circle back one more time, intent on dropping his final bomb. As he maneuvered his plane around for the final run, he had to fly past the Tarleton water tower. Several students had climbed the tower and hurled their missiles at the plane. One student on the tower, L.V. Risinger, threw a 2'x4' piece of wood (about two feet long) at the plane and damaged its propeller. Philips' plane veered sharply to the left, narrowly missing Dean Davis' house, and crash-landed in Hunewell Park."

World War II Marker

The World War II Memorial that sits in front of the E.J. Howell Building honors the members of the Tarleton community who served in the war. The class of 1943 sponsored this granite monument. Over 2500 ex-students saw duty over the course of the war. One hundred and seventy eight of these men died during the conflict. Of the twenty-two faculty members who left their education careers in order to serve their country, two did not return.

Back to Table of Contents

Residence Halls

On Campus Apartments

Lone Star

Lone Star is comprised of 12 two-bedroom apartments in a quiet, unique complex ideal for transfer and veteran students. The apartments are two-bedroom furnished apartments, individually air-conditioned with one Ethernet connection in each bedroom.

 

Apartment rates include:

 

This community remains open year-round for students planning to continue their studies through the summer months. Availability is limited and apartments will be assigned based on completed applications for this environment.

 

Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other students by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

If you have any questions concerning Lonestar, please call at 254-968-0747 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information about Housing.

Texan Village

Texan Village is currently a co-ed apartment complex that houses students all year round. Buildings 1-3 were completed in 2001 and building 4 was added in 2004. It features 3 and 4 bedroom apartments occupied by 4 students each. The apartments are individually air-conditioned, the kitchen, living room, and both bathrooms have tile floors, and the bedrooms are carpeted. Texan Village also has a clubhouse for residents with comfortable seating, study areas and a conference/meeting room perfect for group projects.

 

Apartment rates include:

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other students by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

If you have any questions concerning Texan Village, please call at 254-968-0747 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information about Housing.

University Village

University Village Apartments, built in 1984, is comprised of 80 one and two-bedroom apartments in a unique complex that includes reserved parking for its residents. The kitchen and bathroom have tile floors, and the living room, dining room, and bedroom room are carpeted. Each apartment is individually air-conditioned with one Ethernet connection.

 

Apartment rates include:

 

Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

It is necessary for at least one of the occupants to be a registered student during the academic year and/or pre-registered for the fall semester to occupy the apartment during the summer months. Prior to applying for University Village Apartments, please contact the Residential Living & Learning office at 254-968-9083 for information since availability limited and there is typically a waiting list.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

If you have any questions concerning University Village, please call at 254-968-0747 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information about Housing.

Venture

Venture Apartments, built in 1981, is comprised of 22 one and two-bedroom apartments in a unique complex that surrounds a courtyard perfect for gatherings and interaction. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Two-bedroom apartments can house up to four people and one-bedroom apartments can house up to two people. Each apartment is individually air-conditioned.

 

Apartment rates include:

 

It is necessary for at least one of the occupants to be a registered student during the academic year and/or pre-registered for the fall semester to occupy the apartment during the summer months. Prior to applying for Venture Apartments, please contact the Residential Living & Learning office at 254-968-9083 for information since availability is limited, and there is typically a waiting list.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

 

If you have any questions concerning Venture, please call at 254-968-0747 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information about Housing.

 

Back to Table of Contents

On Campus Residence Halls

Bender

Bender Hall, built in 1953, is an all-male, double occupancy facility for incoming students. It is a fully air-conditioned hall with tile floors and community-style bathrooms. Bender Hall features a large lobby called the Academic Commons with several comfortable chairs and tables for both individual and group study. Should space be available, Bender will offer private rooms at a private Bender room rate.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

 

If you have any questions concerning Bender Hall, please call at 254-968-1878 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.


More information about Housing.

Centennial

Centennial Hall, built in 2004, is a co-ed facility. It is a fully air-conditioned hall with carpeted floor and private-style bathrooms. Centennial Hall features large rooms, lobbies, study space, and conference rooms to encourage group study. Centennial hosts living-learning communities as well as general assignment for first and second year students.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Presidential Honors Program, Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

 

If you have any questions concerning Centennial Hall, please call at 254-968-1024 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information about Housing

Ferguson

Ferguson Hall is an all-female, double occupancy facility for incoming students built in 1958. The dorm has access to a large lobby in Bender called the Academic Commons with several comfortable chairs and tables for both individual and group study. Ferguson is a fully air-conditioned hall with tile floors and community-style bathrooms. Should space be available, Ferguson will offer private rooms at the private Ferguson room rate.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

 

If you have any questions concerning Ferguson Hall, please call at 254-968-1878 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information about Housing

Gough

Gough Hall was an all-female facility that primarily consisted of freshmen students built in 1936. The dorm was a fully air-conditioned hall with tile floor bedrooms and community-style bathrooms. Gough Hall connects to Hunewell Hall and featured a large lobby and 24 hour service desk with several comfortable chairs and tables for both individual and group study.

 

In addition, there was an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that worked together to build community and create an environment where residents experienced social and academic success. Residents had the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Gough Hall is no longer operational since the end of Spring 2015.

Heritage

Heritage Hall is a co-ed facility, built in 2014, offering participation in Tarleton's Living-Learning Community programs as well as general assignment for first year students. It is a fully air-conditioned hall that features a suite-style room concept that has great storage with personal sinks and bathroom storage. This new room design allows each student to have access to natural light with a window while providing a room design that encourages community building.

 

Two rooms link through a spacious bathroom with four sinks and two private shower/toilet rooms. Heritage Hall features large rooms, a spacious lobby, study space, community rooms with kitchens on each floor, conference rooms to encourage group study and two courtyards.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Residence Hall Association that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, intramural sports, living-learning communities, and faculty-partner events.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

 

To set up a show room during the summer, we used standard sized drape panels for the window with a set of window tension rods. We used a standard shower curtain rod and standard sized drape panels for the closet. We used a standard shower curtain rod and shower curtain for the shower enclosure. We also used a standard shower curtain rod and drape panels to provide privacy between the bed spaces.

 

If you have any questions concerning Heritage Hall, please call at 254-968-0728 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information about Housing

Honors

Honors Hall is a co-ed facility for incoming and returning Honors College students. This hall features two room styles for incoming freshman: Double Occupancy and Two Bedroom Suites. Returning students have the option to select a two bedroom apartment. It has secure card swipe hall and room access with private bathrooms. Honors Hall features large rooms, a spacious lobby, study space, a courtyard, a classroom, and community lounges with kitchens.

 

Incoming freshmen who graduate in the top-quarter and are TSI-complete are eligible to apply for admission to the Honors College. Students without a class rank and students with special circumstances may ask to be considered on an individual basis. Returning students and transfer students with a 3.0 or higher GPA are also eligible to apply for admission. Visit www.tarleton.edu/honors for more information and to apply.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Honors Hall underwent a complete renovation and expansion to open in 2016. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Double Occupancy Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Two Bedroom Suite Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Two Bedroom Apartment Furnishings:

 

Measurements:

Double:

 

Suites:

If you have any questions concerning Honors Hall, please call at 254-968-0707 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information on Housing

Hunewell

Hunewell Hall is a co-ed facility that is primarily first-year students built in 1961. Hunewell Hall is a fully air-conditioned facility with suite-style bathrooms and tile floor bedrooms. Each suite will accommodate same gender students. Hunewell Hall features a large lobby and 24 hour service desk with several comfortable chairs and tables for both individual and group study.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

 

If you have any questions concerning Hunewell Hall, please call at 254-968-1878 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information on Housing

Hunewell Annex

Hunewell Annex Hall is a co-ed facility that is primarily first-year students built in 1968. Hunewell Annex Hall is a fully air-conditioned facility with suite-style bathrooms and tile floor bedrooms. Each suite accommodates same gender students. Hunewell Annex Hall features a large lobby and 24 hour service desk with several comfortable chairs and tables for both individual and group study.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

 

If you have any questions concerning Hunewell Annex Hall, please call at 254-968-1878 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information on Housing

Integrity Hall

Integrity Hall is a co-ed facility that primarily houses second year students. It is a fully air-conditioned hall that features a popular private bedroom layout and all the amenities our residential students enjoy. Integrity Hall has secure card swipe hall and room access with two and four bedroom options. Integrity Hall features large bedrooms with full size beds in an apartment-style suite with a living room and kitchenette.

 

This new hall encourages community building with great lobbies, study space, and full kitchens on each floor. The activity courtyard has a recreation space with an outdoor television to enjoy events and activities together. In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings:

The common area is also furnished with a couch, microwave, and 13 cubic ft. refrigerator.

 

Measurements:

 

If you have any questions concerning Integrity Hall, please call at 254-968-9859 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information on Housing

Legacy

Legacy Hall is a co-ed facility that primarily houses returning and first year students. It is a fully air-conditioned hall that features a popular split room concept. Legacy hosts some living-learning communities as few general assignment spaces for first year students. It has secure card swipe hall and room access with a bathroom that divides the two bedroom spaces. Legacy Hall features large rooms, lobbies, study space, and conference rooms to encourage group study.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. This residence hall was built in 2011. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, learning communities, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings:

 

Measurements:

 

If you have any questions concerning Legacy Hall please call at 254-968-0583 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information on Housing

Legends

Legends Hall is a co-ed facility offering participation in Tarleton's Living-Learning Community programs as well as general assignment for first year students. It is a fully air-conditioned hall that features a popular split room concept. Legends Hall has secure card swipe hall and room access with a bathroom that divides the two bedroom spaces. Legends Hall features large rooms, lobbies, study space, and conference rooms to encourage group study.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. This residence hall was built in 2010. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, learning communities, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

 Furnishings and Amenities:

 

Measurements:

 

If you have any questions concerning Legends Hall, please call at 254-968-1024 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information on Housing

Moody

Moody Hall is currently an all-female facility that is primarily first year students. It is a fully air-conditioned hall with tile floor bedrooms and community style bathrooms. Moody Hall is near Gough and Hunewell Hall and has access to a large lobby and 24-hour service desk with several comfortable chairs and tables for both individual and group study.

 

In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. This residence hall was built in 1936. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Please refer to the Gough Hall page as the hall layouts are similar

 

Moody Hall is no longer operational since the end of Spring 2015.
Traditions Hall North

Traditions Residence Hall North, a new housing build, opened January 2017. This residential area encompasses the two new buildings along N Rome Street and W Sloan Street, Traditions North and Traditions South.

 

Traditions Hall North is a co-ed facility that primarily houses second year students. It is a fully air-conditioned hall that features a popular private bedroom layout and all the amenities our residential students enjoy. The dorm has secure card swipe hall and room access with two and four bedroom options. Traditions Hall North features large bedrooms with full size beds in an apartment-style suite with a living room and kitchenette.

 

This new hall encourages community building with great lobbies, study space, and full kitchens on each floor. In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings:


The common area is also furnished with the following:

 

Traditions:

 

If you have any questions concerning Traditions Hall, please call at 254-968-1663 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information on Housing

 

Traditions Hall South

Traditions Residence Hall South, a new housing build, opened August 2016. This residential area encompasses the two new buildings along N Rome Street and W Sloan Street, Traditions North and Traditions South.

 

Traditions Hall South is a co-ed facility that primarily houses second year students. It is a fully air-conditioned hall that features a popular private bedroom layout and all the amenities our residential students enjoy. The dorm has secure card swipe hall and room access with two and four bedroom options. Traditions Hall South features large bedrooms with full size beds in an apartment-style suite with a living room and kitchenette.

 

This new hall encourages community building with great lobbies, study space, and full kitchens on each floor. In addition, there is an active Residential Leader staff and Hall Leadership Team that work together to build community and create an environment where residents experience social and academic success. Residents have the opportunity to get involved and meet other people by joining the Residence Hall Association, study groups, and intramural sports.

 

Furnishings:

Full-Size Bed

Dresser

Desk and Desk Chair

Nightstand

The common area is also furnished with a couch, microwave, and 13 cubic ft. refrigerator.

 

Traditions:

Closet: 47 “ wide, 83 “ high, 24 “ deep

Window: 38 “ wide, 63 “ high

 

If you have any questions concerning Traditions Hall, please call at 254-968-1663 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

More information on Housing

Back to Table of Contents

Parking

P12

Reserved parking spots reserved for combat wounded veterans, current or former troops who have received the Purple Heart Award.

P20

Reserved parking spots reserved for combat wounded veterans, current or former troops who have received the Purple Heart Award.

P27 - Addition

Faculty/Staff parking

P46

Handi-cap accessible parking 

Back to Table of Contents

All Zone Parking

P20 East

This lot closes at Noon every Friday and re-opens on Mondays through Nov. 4th.  

P20 North

For this lot, a golf cart shuttle service is available Sunday-Thursday 7PM-1AM from P20 North to the center of campus.

This lot closes at Noon every Friday and re-opens on Mondays through Nov. 4th.  

P20 South

All Zone Parking.  Recommended parking for Recreational Sports Center, Wisdom Gym, Kinesiology, Nursing, and Science.

This lot closes at Noon every Friday and re-opens on Mondays through Nov. 4th.  

P25

All Zone Parking

P25

All Zone Parking

P34 North

All Zone Parking

P34 South

All Zone Parking

P34 South

All Zone Parking

P41 (Landmark Lot)

All Zone Parking on the corner of McNeill and Lillian.

P5

All Zone Parking

Back to Table of Contents

Commuter Parking

Commuter Parking at St. Luke's

Commuter Parking - Parking is only allowed in this lot Monday-Friday.

P17

Commuter parking.

P40: Commuter Parking

Commuter parking

Back to Table of Contents

Handicap Parking

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center, Barry B. Thompson Student Center, and the Dining Hall, located in parking lot P15.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Centennial Hall, Legends Hall, Legacy Hall, Barry B. Thompson Student Center, and the Science building, located in parking lot P27.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Memorial Stadium, located in parking lot P20 on the east side of the stadium off of Harbin drive.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Kinesiology building and Wisdom Gym, located in parking lot P17.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for Davis Hall, located in parking lot P30.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Welcome Center, located in visitor parking lot P2 on Washington Street on the left side of the building.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for Centennial Hall and Legends Hall, located in parking lot P22.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Administration Building, located in parking lot P1 off of Washington Street on the left side of the building.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for Traditions Hall, located in parking lot P16.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Central Receiving, located on Tarleton Street in between the tennis courts and the Central Receiving building.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the O.A. Grant Humanities building, located in parking lot P10.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Nursing and Science building, located in parking lot P26 off of Rome avenue.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the P.E. Field Facility, located in parking lot P20 on the North side of Memorial Stadium off of Sloan street.

P
.
E
. Field
F
acility
Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the O.A Grant Humanities building and the Dick Smith Library, located in visitor parking lot P12 between the Humanities building and Davis Hall

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Fine Arts Center, Davis Hall and the Dick Smith Library, located in parking lot P30.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Administration Building located in visitor parking lot P2 on Washington Street on the right side of the building.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Intramural Sports fields, located in parking lot P20 on the east side of Memorial Stadium off of Harbin Drive.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for the Administration Annex I, Physical Facilities, Engineering Technology building and the E.J. Howell Education building, located P13 and P37.

Handicap Parking

Handicap parking for Moody Hall, Gough Hall, Hunewell, and Hunewell Annex Hall located in parking lot P4.

P46
Handi-cap accessible parking 

Back to Table of Contents

Purple Heart Parking

P12

Reserved parking spots reserved for combat wounded veterans, current or former troops who have received the Purple Heart Award.

P17

Reserved parking spots reserved for combat wounded veterans, current or former troops who have received the Purple Heart Award.

P20

Reserved parking spots reserved for combat wounded veterans, current or former troops who have received the Purple Heart Award.

P3

Reserved parking spots reserved for combat wounded veterans, current or former troops who have received the Purple Heart Award.

Back to Table of Contents

Faculty and Staff Parking

P1
Faculty and Staff Parking
P10
Faculty and Staff
P11
Faculty and Staff
P13
Faculty and Staff, Courtesy/Emergency Phones
P14
Faculty and Staff, Courtesy/Emergency Phones
P15
Faculty and Staff, Courtesy/Emergency Phones
P18
Faculty and Staff
P19
Faculty and Staff
P20 East
Faculty and Staff
P21
Police Parking, Faculty & Staff
P26
Faculty and Staff
P27

Faculty and Staff Parking

P27 - Addition
Faculty/Staff parking
P37
Faculty and Staff
P46
Faculty/Staff Parking

Back to Table of Contents

Residential Parking

P16

Residential Parking

P22 East
Residential Parking
P22 West
Residential Parking
P23

Residential parking

P24

Residential Parking

P28 (residential)

Residential Parking

P3
Residential Parking
P30

Residential Parking

P31
Residential Parking
P31-A
Residential Parking
P31-B
Residential Parking
P32
Residential Parking
P35
Residential Parking
P36
Residential Parking
P39

Residential parking

P4
Residential Parking
P43
Residential parking
P44 (residential)
Residential parking
P45 - South
Residential parking for Traditions Hall
P9 / Thompson Park
Residential Parking

Back to Table of Contents

Visitor Parking

P12
Visitor Parking
P19
Visitor Parking
P19 Visitor
Faculty and Staff Parking, along with Visitor and Handicap Parking north Central Receiving
P2
Visitor Parking
Visitor Parking

Visitor parking,come to the Parking Services office for your visitor parking permit.

Visitor Parking
Come to the Parking Services office here for your visitor parking permit.
Visitor Parking - P36

Back to Table of Contents

Tour Content

Stop 1

Back to Tours

Stop 2

Back to Tours

Stop 3

Back to Tours

Stop 4

Back to Tours

Stop 5

Back to Tours

Stop5-

Back to Tours

Stop .6

Back to Tours

Stop 7

Back to Tours

Stop .8

Back to Tours

stop .9

Back to Tours

end

Back to Tours

Outside Administration

View around the outdoor area near the Administration Building and the Tarleton Center.

Back to Tours

Alumni Island

View around the Alumni Island area.

Back to Tours

Hunewell Hall lobby

View inside the Hunewell Hall lobby.

Back to Tours

Will L. Tate Military Memorial and Heritage Park

View around the Will L. Tate Military Memorial and Heritage Park

Back to Tours

Dining Hall

View around the Dining Hall.

 

In 2008, the 42,000-square-feet structure replaced the original dining hall constructed in 1928, and features buffet lines with various cuisines and a salad bar. The two-story facility also features a convenience store, executive meeting rooms and a cafe with a wireless network. 

 

Tarleton's previous dining hall only accommodated approximately 350 students at one time, whereas the new facility will have a capacity of 700 students. For student convenience, the new dining hall is an extension of the Barry B. Thompson Student Center.

 

The Dining Hall provides services that include Dining Services (official site), C-Store, and the Italian Cafe.

Back to Tours

Area in front of Dining Hall and Student Center

Scenic view in front of the dining hall and next to the Barry B. Thompson Student Center.

Back to Tours

Barry B. Thompson Student Center lobby

View inside the main lobby of the Barry B. Thompson Student Center.

 

The Thompson Student Center is divided into three levels: lower level, first level, and second level. This building is full of activities and information that are useful to the students. The Thompson Student Center is equipped with a game room, study areas, and lounge areas for the students and faculty to go and unwind.

Back to Tours

Lillian and Jones Intersection

This street intersection of N Lillian and W. Jones is close to several of the residence halls as well as the Barry B. Thompson Student Center and the Lamar Johanson Science Building.

Back to Tours

Heritage Hall student room

An example of a Heritage Hall student room.

Back to Tours

Heritage Hall Lobby

View of the Heritage Hall lobby area.

Back to Tours

Integrity Hall lobby

View of the Integrity Hall lobby area.

Back to Tours

Integrity Hall student room - common area

View of an Integrity Hall student room common area (living room.)

Back to Tours

Integrity Hall student room

View of an Integrity Hall student room.

Back to Tours

Legends Hall lobby

View of the Legends Hall lobby area.

Back to Tours

Legends Hall student room

View of a Legends Hall student room.

Back to Tours

Pedestrian Area - Legends Hall - Centennial Hall sidewalk

Outdoor pedestrian walk area alongside Legends and Centennial Halls.

Back to Tours

Centennial Hall Lobby

View of the Centennial Lobby area.

Back to Tours

Centennial Hall student room

View of a Centennial Hall student room.

Back to Tours

Recreation Center First Floor

View of the Recreation Center on the first floor, including the weight room, basketball courts, and rock-climbing wall.

Back to Tours

Rec Center Second Floor

View of the Recreation Center second floor, which is the location of aerobic equipment, group exercise rooms, track, and row machines.

Back to Tours

Nursing Building Lobby

View of the main lobby inside the Nursing Building.

Back to Tours

Nursing Building Reflection Pool

View of the reflection pool in front of the Nursing Building, as well as a side view of the Lamar Johanson Science Building.

Back to Tours

Wisdom Gym

View of the inside of the Wisdom Gym.

Back to Tours

Dick Smith Library Entrance

Area in front of the entrance to the Dick Smith Library.

Back to Tours

ULTRA sculpture and outdoor area

ULTRA is the sculpture adjacent to the Clyde H.
Wells Fine Arts Center, given to Tarleton by Ernie
and Hugh Wolfe as a memorial to Dean J. Thomas Davis.
The work is of steel, fabricated by artist John Gregg.
It is 18' high and weighs approximately 2,000 pounds.
Designated as a symbol for "unlocking limits
that restrict achievement," the tip of the solid white sculpture points due north.

Back to Tours

Parade Start

Back to Tours

Parade End

Back to Tours